Thankful.

20130418_070153

The other day I caught my mind running off on a little self-pity bender.

A well-frequented path, I was stuck and beat up – finding excuses, blame and yet more excuses.
No matter what the concern, it seemed to all boil down to a disconnect between where I was and where I wanted to be.

Overwhelmingly, it would seem at every turn I didn’t know enough, or have enough, or dare I say – deserve it all.

(whatever that was)

Then I remembered……

I have a roof over my head.

I have a dry, comfortable bed to sleep in.

I have clothes to wear.

I have delicious, fresh food to eat – three square meals a day.

I have a job.

Dollars in the bank.

A car.

Family and friends who I love dearly.

And a safe, truly blessed country to call home.

I stopped in my [mental] tracks….overwhelmed and grateful.Β Thankful for all these luxuries and more.

I am blessed to live without the threat of violence or war around me.
I am so thankful to have the opportunities I do to travel, and learn and help and share.
I am grateful to know the true value of good health, taught only by overcoming the state of dis-ease.
To live in a beautiful city, with a natural wonderland just beyond my doorstep.
To grow my own food, and buy what I don’t locally.
And of course, be surrounded by inspiring and talented individuals being their best.

 

Suddenly I feel blessed.
Me and my little spot of paradise are – dare I say – enough.

 

What are you thankful for?

Leave a Reply

