My Crafty Thirteen: #2

Eeek, it’s the end of May and I’m falling desperately behind in my 13 from ’13 – better find some quick and practical projects to get me back up to speed then!!

But this is a cute project I made earlier in the year for my 12 year old nephew. Project brief: something that could easily (and cheaply) be posted overseas, and that it was practical. Well, I forgot that the northern hemisphere is warm at this time of the year – not freezing like Central Victoria – but I hope it’ll see lots of wear come the next winter.

Project 2: “Blake’s Scarf”

Started: February

Finished: Early March 2013

Method: Crochet

IMG_20130315_174608

Yep my happy place: crochet, chai tea and chocolate.

Yarn: Op Shop finds which are wool/acrylic blends, plus left over 8ply woollen yarn from another blanket

Hook: 3.5mm bamboo

Pattern: taken from Lucy at Attic 24 – her simple to follow tutorial on making a ripple blanket got me started and hooked (pun intended). Except I knew I needed something quick and easy to keep my interest and to make sure I actually finished it! Enter scarf…two repetitions of the “ripple”, two rows per colour, four beautiful “boy” colours.

Repeated until the scarf was long enough.

Tassels to add the finishing touches.

Voila!

20130416_141750

20130416_141716

I liked it so much it was hard to part with this scarf…just might have to whip another one up for myself soon!

xx

Leave a Reply

