2012: thoughts and plans

I have resisted the flimsy and transient nature of “new-years’ resolutions”……it always seems that by February 1st you have either broken, forgotten or lost the desire to keep them up.

Instead I have been jotting down ideas as they float around in my head, trying my best to formulate into some sort of plan. Every year that passes I try to promise myself that I will focus on a plan that keeps the things I value front and centre.

(even if I don’t entirely know what those things are).

Two three quotes that have either made me think hard or spurred me into action now that we land at the end of January 2012 are:

Not until we are lost do we begin to understand ourselves.  ~Henry David Thoreau

The thing that is really hard, and really amazing, is giving up on being perfect and beginning the work of becoming yourself.  ~Anna Quindlen

 When your heart speaks, take good notes.  ~Judith Campbell

2011 has been a year that I have learnt more about who I am, who I want to be and what will get me there – even if at times the journey has involved a great deal of sadness or challenge. I have been forced to reconsider what I thought was “important” to living a life of fun and happiness. I have realised that “worth” only comes from the price you put on your own happiness – not what others’ say you should be content with. I certainly am aware of what I value, and where my boundaries lie….where maybe there were times where I would ignore what “the heart sang” just to try and please/appease those around me, I can now say that my happiness is at the front of my mind. 

So, 2012…what will you bring?


 
Recharge.
  • First step to that is letting go, leaving a job that drains me. Gaining space and time to breathe again, consider what work I can do that both sustains and fulfills me.
    Update: I finish work 24th February. Funny how since making the decision
    I now sleep well again at night.
  • Second step to the recharge is moving states to a place that holds charm, culture, friends, family, music. Yes, I will be giving up an easy commute, quiet life, treed backyard and pleasant weather, but there’s always some plus’ and minus’. Melbourne has been calling my name for some time now………the heart’s finally just sung loud enough for me to hear over the brain’s chatter!!

  • Letting go of possessions, relationships, old hopes and unrealistic dreams I have harboured for the last 12 years that have only created barriers to sustaining those meaningful things (people) in my life. Plus, hard to move states and embark on another journey holding onto a whole lot of (unwanted) baggage.  

 
Renovate. 

  • Firstly, I am focusing on losing my sugar addiction/dependence: this might take a fair chunk of time and dedication, but I have lived that way for 3 months (way back in 2010) – I’m sure I can break the habit and live clean!! I am using David Gillespie’s book “Sweet Poison” and Sarah Wilson’s “I Quit Sugar” e-book as a guide and some inspiration…
  • Cook more – wholesome, organic, seasonal, sustainable (local).

Summer harvest pesto pasta

Winter warming stew

  • Big purchases but with a “green” price-tag attached: buying a bike! Then I am challenging myself to use two wheels more than four.
    This little beauty has caught my eye…*love* Sommer from Papillionaire

Rediscover.

  • More blogging about what I love.

  • Starting some big (and not so big) creative projects – photography, knitting, crochet, drawing, writing, guitar and singing are all hitting a priority for me as I take a step back from “do more for others” to “do what I want”.
  •  Learn French.
  • Travel. Study. Read. (I guess you could just say I want to expand my horizons, rather than be tied down by “what I think others want me to do/be”!!)
Beautiful Heronswood gardens and homestead, Mornington Peninsula
A morning walk along the beach, Jervis Bay

 Yes Yes. I’m getting excited. Making lists. 2012 is the beginning of a new phase in many respects – it’s hard to live like a hermit under a rock with the world around you evolving before your eyes (financially, in big-business, with our social consciences, and especially in the environment).
It reminds me that the only thing I can count on is the fact change will come. Whether I am ready or not.Above and beyond all the plans above, I hope that I am accepting and willing to take this change in my stride.

“God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change,
Courage to change the things I can,
And wisdom to know the difference.”     -Serenity Prayer

    Leave a Reply

    